Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

RECAP: Texas Women for the Arts Champions of the Arts Award Lunch

Part of the 12th Annual Texas Women for the Arts Annual Meeting

Every year, the Texas Cultural Trust’s giving circle Texas Women for the Arts gathers in a different Texas town to discover the local art scene and award grants to arts organizations across the state. This year, the lucky city was our own Austin!

The annual meeting was two and a half days that showcased the city’s best arts, culture, and culinary amenities with a distinctly Austin flair.

On day two, the Texas Women for the Arts were treated to the very special Champions of the Arts Award Lunch at The Contemporary Austin at Laguna Gloria.  The Champion of the Arts Award was given to Dian Stai for her commitment to the group’s mission and tireless efforts to advocate for access to arts education for all Texas children.

The guests enjoyed hearing from the executive director of the art program at Laguna Gloria, while enjoying a luncheon of crab cakes and salad along the waterfront. After lunch, they perused the sculptures in the gardens.

The next day, the ladies met for lunch at the Pershing, where they announced their 2017 grant winners for arts programs and art education programs. All-in-all, the giving group awarded over $235,000 to 22 arts and arts organizations.  The top three recipients on hand to receive their combine awards of over $50,000, and will be announced along with the rest of the grantees in early June.

Laura Craddick, Annie Downing
Jennifer Stevens, Jennifer Ransom Rice, Autumn Rich
Shannon Cahalan, Alex Mizer
Patsy Donosky, Karen Oswalt, Sharon McCoulough , Nancy Bass
Isha Rogers, Dede Rogers, Goli Parstabar
Champion of the Arts Awardee, Dian Stai

Written by Laura Villagran Johnson

Co-Founder and Creative Director,
Austin Social Planner

204 posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *