Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

RECAP: St. David’s Foundation 2013 Neal Kocurek Scholars Dinner

On August 7th,  following a formal dinner at the Four Seasons Austin Hotel, St. David’s Foundation formally announced this year’s Neal Kocurek Scholars. Students were joined by their families, board members, program supporters and mentors.

St David Foundation Scholars Dinner - Guest 3
Earl Maxwell (right) with scholarship recipient Daniel Murray a graduate of Anderson High School. He will be attending UT at Austin and majoring in Exercise Science.

“These incredible students deserve the best that education has to offer,” said Earl Maxwell, CEO of the foundation.

St David Foundation Scholars Dinner - Guest 2
Bill and Venus Strawn, Clint and Susan Hackney

“Many have overcome tremendous challenges, yet they have excelled academically. Our sincere hope is to help pave the way for these students’ future educational endeavors.”

St David Foundation Scholars Dinner - Guest 1
Diane Turner, Jo Ann Christian

St. David’s Neal Kocurek Scholarship Fund provides each student with up to $7,500 per year for up to four years for undergraduate students, and up to four years for graduate studies and medical school at Texas colleges and universities. Students attending Texas community colleges receive up to $4,000 per year.

St David Foundation Scholars Dinner - Guest 5
Katherine Altobello, Todd Waldron

Recipients included graduating seniors from the Travis, Hays, Williamson, Bastrop and Caldwell county school districts. All students plan to pursue a career in health care.

St David Foundation Scholars Dinner - Guest 6
Jerry Turner (right) with scholarship recipient Claire Prewitt of Anderson High School. She will be attending Baylor University and majoring in Biology.

Written by Stacey Harrell

Stacey Harrell is a photographer who works almost solely with non-profits, and she covers Austin’s Society and Event scene for West Austin News.

8 posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *